Why is Nature Important?

Home Forums For Students Why is Nature Important?

Tagged: country, education, importance, inner city, nature

This topic contains 4 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by Avatar of David Abbott David Abbott 6 months, 2 weeks ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

Anna McAndrew

I am studying Education at Goldsmiths and in our seminar groups we have very interesting discussions, there are partly so interesting because I often find myself shocked at the other students points of view and debates. For example in one class we were talking about the importance of Nature in education. They did not see the relevance and importance of nature, or any reason to include it in our schools. “Why should we care about trees if there are none in the city?” one girl said suggesting that as there isn’t much nature around it must not be very importnat and why should we focus on it in education. I suppose this lack of understanding and respect for nature might be partly because they have grown up in London without the same exposure to wildlife one has growing up in the country?

I personally think nature is the most important part of life and I don’t see how anyone can question it.

I know this is a brief description but was wondering what people felt about this sort of statement and whether there is someone you know of who has written about the importance of Nature in Education…

Anna

Brodie Calis